Clank! publisher launches Solo Hero series of single-player-only games

08 January 2019
proving-grounds-41534.png Proving Grounds
First instalment will be fantasy adventure Proving Grounds

Renegade, the publisher behind Clank!, Raiders of the North Sea and more, has announced a new line of games designed for just one player.

The Solo Hero series will kick off with Proving Grounds, a real-time solitaire dice game designed by FUSE and Flatline creator Kane Klenko.

What makes Proving Grounds particularly interesting is its strong focus on story. A novella written by RPG designer and author Monica Valentinelli, Only the Strongest Has the Heart of a Wizened Queen, included inside the box serves as a prologue to the action of the gameplay, as fighter Maia Strongheart attempts to prove her innocence after being framed for the death of her mother, the Sun Queen.

Content continues after advertisements

The novella introduces the characters and plotline, before the single player takes control of Strongheart as she competes in the titular gladiatorial arena during each half-hour playthrough.

The game itself includes a tutorial and six different modules that can be mixed in various different combinations, ramping up from a basic experience to a tougher challenge as more optional rules are introduced.

Proving Grounds is due out this April, and will cost $35 in the US – that’ll get you some cards, dice, tokens and the game’s storybook. The next entry in the Solo Hero series is yet to be announced.


No comments